Diversity at Denver Law

Diversity Updates


COMMENTS? Connect with us here: diversity@law.du.edu

October 16, 2017

Friday November 3 is "Metro State Day at Denver Law"

September 28, 2017

High School Students Argue Moot Court Issues at Denver Law

On September 27, 2017, six teams composed of students from William Smith High School in Aurora argued cases bearing on constitutional law topics. They met in the William S. Hoffman Courtroom at the University of Denver Sturm College of Law before a judicial tribunal of Dave Davis and John Kearney, teachers at Wm. Smith H.S., and Denver Law's Randy Wagner. The students, 10th to 12th graders, are members of Kearney's 4-week all-day Constitutional Law class. They were well prepared and argued the cases in excellent fashion.

September 6, 2017

William Smith H.S. Students Visit Denver Law

Today 20 students from William Smith High School, 10th to 12th grade, visited Denver Law. Wm. Smith H.S. is an expeditionary learning school* in Aurora, CO. The students first met with Professor Tom Romero then attended a Torts class taught by Professor Catherine Smith. They shared lunch with law students Jessica Cordera and Gideon Irving and Associate Director of Admissions Yvonne Cherena-Pacheco. During a tour of the law building, the Wm. Smith students met law student Kiah Ellis. Teacher John Kearney and Assistant Principal Kristin Wiedmaier accompanied the group.



* "Dedicated to providing a diverse student body with outstanding academic and character education through engaging project-based work, the school enjoys a 90% graduation rate with alumni attending colleges and universities, technical schools, and the workforce. Projects integrate fieldwork, guest experts, and authentic audiences, bringing curriculum to life. Hands-on work reflects a workplace environment in order to prepare students for their future. Students develop products and presentations that demonstrate the knowledge and technical tools of professionals. At William Smith, students learn to create the lives they want to lead." (https://williamsmithhs.org/about)

September 6, 2017

DACA Resources at DU

In her statement addressed to the DU community, Chancellor Rebecca Chopp wrote:

The University of Denver continues to support DACA, along with over 600 other colleges and universities, and we hope that our national leaders will find a way to continue policies that allow these bright and dedicated students, faculty members and staff to thrive in the DU community and the country.

Click here for a full accounting of "DACA Resources at DU."

September 5, 2017

Denver Law Faculty and Staff Statement on DACA

September 5, 2017

To Our Students and Our Community:

As faculty and staff of the University of Denver Sturm College of Law, we write to express our wholehearted disagreement with the decision to end the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program. In tandem with other recent policies and programs designed to break up families, cause fear and panic in our communities, and directly harm those who have dared to dream that America would not turn its back on them, this decision is antithetical to our shared work of diversity and inclusion.

Like most institutions of higher learning, DREAMers and undocumented individuals are integral to our community at the University of Denver. DREAMers have graduated from our law school and university. Many have become leaders in their fields, including the Colorado bar. Many have worked selflessly to serve underserved communities throughout the state and the country. Whatever their paths, we cherish the DREAMers in our community. They inspire us with their commitment to our institution and contribute immeasurably to the diversity of views and experiences that are integral to our broader educational mission.

For this reason, we wish to reiterate our absolute, unequivocal, and unwavering support for our DREAMer and undocumented students. We will continue to support you regardless of what transpires in the coming weeks and months. DREAMers are an integral part of our community, and in our view the announcement today does not change that in the slightest.

We know that this is an anxious time for many of you. As always, we hope that you will seek us out if we can be of help to you, and that you will also take advantage of the other law school and university resources available to you.

With solidarity and respect:

Anne Aguirre     Ryan Allen     Rachel Arnow-Richman     Rebecca Aviel     Debra S. Austin     Tanya Bartholomew

Mohammed Bellifa     Eric Bono     Stacey Bowers     Diane Burkhardt     Stefanie M. Carroll     Alan Chen    

Yvonne Cherena-Pacheco     Roberto Corrada     Patience A. Crowder     Susan D. Daggett     Laura Dean

Catherine M. Dunn     K.K. DuVivier     Nancy Ehrenreich     Christopher Engle-Newman     Ian Farrell

Casey Faucon     Kalyani Fernando     Alexi Freeman     Samantha Galvin     César Cuauhtémoc García Hernández

Nicole B. Godfrey     Rashmi Goel     Felicia Ho     Jessica R. Hogan     Meghan Howes     Mark Hughes

Danielle C. Jefferis     Beto Juárez     Sam Kamin     Michael Kovaka     Margaret Kwoka     C.J. Larkin

Christopher N. Lasch     Nancy Leong     Justin Marceau     Patti Marks     Lucy Marsh

Kristian McDaniel-Miccio     John D. McKee     Amy B. McLellan     Lauri Mlinar     Viva Moffat

Rachel Moran     Suzanna Moran     Ved Nanda     Steve Pepper     May Piatek     Justin Pidot

Randolph A. Robinson II     Tom Romero     Laura Rovner     Tom Russell     Tanya Z. Salih

Laurie Saraceno     Colleen T. Scarola     Kari L. Shafenberg     Michael R. Siebecker     Catherine Smith

Don C. Smith     Michael D. Sousa     Erin H. Stearns     Judith C. Stein     Robin Walker Sterling

Kate Stoker     Celia Taylor     David I. C. Thomson     Ann S. Vessels     Randy Wagner     Lindsey Webb

Annecoos Wiersema     Amanda Williams     Jeanne Zokovitch