Admitted Student Information
Congratulations on your admission to University of Denver Sturm College of Law. Below, you'll find everything you need to get started on your law school journey at Denver Law.
We hope to see you soon!
Important Reminders & Information
DU ID Number
You have been assigned a DU ID number which was included in your admission letter/email (and most other application correspondence from our office). This ID number, which starts with “87…” is used to uniquely identify your records at the university. Having this number handy will help various offices on campus look up your student record.
PioneerWeb is our online student portal. Through PioneerWeb, you can pay your tuition deposit, view your financial aid award information, and complete many other tasks, such as: registration, paying your bill, waiving your health insurance, etc.
To access PioneerWeb, you will need your DU ID number and a password. The first time you access PioneerWeb, your default password will be your birth date in a MMDDYY format.
As an admitted student, you will have access to the “Incoming Graduate Student” tab, which will have a lot of information for incoming students. Once you pay your deposit, you will receive access to the “Law Student” tab which will have additional functions that are available only to deposited students (waiving health insurance, paying your bill, registration, etc).
In order to confirm your intention to attend Denver Law, you will need to submit your first $500 admissions deposit by April 15, 2021 and a second tuition deposit of $300 by June 3, 2021. Students admitted after mid-April may have different deadlines, please check your admission letter.
Transfer and Advanced Standing students pay only one $300 deposit, the due date for which is in your admission letter.
These deposits will be credited toward your first tuition payment and are non-refundable. Your deposit can be paid via an electronic check (ACH), credit card or by mailing a check directly to the Office of Admissions.
To pay your tuition deposit online:
- Go to: PioneerWeb (login instructions above)
- Go to the “Incoming Graduate Student” tab
- This tab is not available immediately after your admission. You’ll need to wait until the morning after you are admitted for it to be available to you.
- Follow the directions under “Submit Admission Deposit” in the center column
- Go to the “Incoming Graduate Student” tab
To ensure that your first payment is deposited in the correct account, please make sure to select 'Fall Sem 2021'.
- Go to: PioneerWeb (login instructions above)
If you graduated after submitting your transcripts to LSAC, you will need to complete your file by providing the Office of Admissions with your final transcript documenting final grades and that a degree was conferred. Official transcripts can either be sent to LSAC or to the Admissions Office. These will need to arrive before the start of classes.
Have your transcripts sent to one of these addresses:
Law School Admission Council
662 Penn Street
PO BOX 2000-M
Newtown PA 18940-0993
University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Office of Admissions
2255 East Evans Avenue, Suite 115
Denver, CO 80208
If your LSAC file includes all your transcripts with degree(s) conferred, you do not need to send updated transcripts.
Colorado law (see Colorado Revised Statutes 25-4-901 to 909) and Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment requires all college and university students physically present on campus and enrolled for one or more classes, submit proof of immunization for measles, mumps and rubella. For detailed information about this requirement and instructions for submitting proof of immunity, go to the Health and Counseling Center website.
All new students must submit a Certificate of Immunization Form in order to attend Denver Law. If proof of immunity is not provided to the HCC, you will not be allowed to register for classes. In the event of an outbreak of one of these viruses on campus, you will be withdrawn from classes by the Health Department until the outbreak is contained. You will not be eligible for a tuition credit under these circumstances.
For more information contact:
The academic calendar is published annually by the Registrar’s Office. For 2021-22, orientation for new students will be held the week of August 9, 2021. The first day of classes will be August 16, 2021.
Financial aid is important to most students attending law school. Our Office of Student Financial Management is here to help you understand your options and help you prepare for a successful law school career.
Their website lists a lot of information about the financial aid process, including information about:
Cost of Attendance
Students can receive financial aid up to their Cost of Attendance (or Student Budget). The cost of attendance includes both direct costs (tuition and fees) which are billed by the university and indirect costs (living expenses, books, etc) which are not billed directly to you but are a part of the costs of attending law school. It is meant to provide an estimate of the cost of one academic year at Denver Law; each students actual expenses, especially living expenses, will vary.
*Cost of attendance figures for 2021-22 will be available in February 2021.
- Tuition Payment Options
Admitted Student Virtual Info Sessions
Please sign up here for an Admitted Student Virtual Info Session. We can discuss scholarships in more depth, academic programs and opportunities, and answer questions about Denver and our community.
Admitted Student Sessions
Monday, January 25, 2021, 10:00 a.m. (MST)
Tuesday, February 9, 2021, 10:00 a.m. (MST)
Thursday, February 25, 2021, 3:00 p.m. (MST)
We encourage you to plan early and consider a variety of options as you prepare for your arrival in the fall.
- https://www.veryapt.com/guides/housing/150-sturm-college-of-law/ is a housing guide for incoming students created by a partnership between the Sturm College of Law and the company Very Apt.
- DU’s Housing and Residential Education department will be offering grad student housing for the 2020-21 academic year. Residence options: https://www.du.edu/housing/media/documents/2020-2021/grad-housing-poster.pdf
If you have questions about the Denver housing market, need more resources, or would like to schedule a time to talk with the Off-Campus Housing Fellow, please visit the website or send an email to OffCampus.Housing@du.edu.
Parking permits are sold online starting in May. There is no deadline to purchase a permit; however, permits must be purchased by mid-July if you want them added to your fall semester bill. After this point, permits must be paid for at the time of purchase.
Keep in mind that high demand Restricted permits are sold on a first-come, first-served basis. Therefore, the earlier you purchase your permit the more likely it is that you will get your desired lot choice.
A DU Parking Map is available online.
For information about parking permits or to purchase a permit contact:
Health Insurance & Health & Counseling Fee
All students attending the University of Denver are required to participate in the Student Health Insurance Plan if they do not have adequate personal health insurance coverage. The 2020-2021 premium is $1,650 per semester.
Additionally, all Denver Law students charged a Health and Counseling Fee which covers many of the services provided by the Heath and Counseling Center (HCC). This fee is $300 per semester for the 2020-21 academic year and can be waived. More information about fees and coverage can be found on the Health & Counseling Center website.
You may waive the Health Insurance if you have other coverage. Regardless of your decision on the DU Health Insurance Plan, you also have a choice to accept or waive the Health and Counseling Fee. Please see the Health and Counseling Fee information on the Health and Counseling website to see what the fee covers.
Health insurance may be waived online through the “Law Student” tab of PioneerWeb. The Accept/Waive Health Insurance link is listed under the “Registration Tools” box. You will need to wait until you are registered for classes before these fees can be waived (our Registrar’s Office usually begins registering students in early July).
For information about the Health Insurance Plan and Health and Counseling Fee, please contact:
Orientation is mandatory for incoming first-year, transfer and visiting students. It is structured to allow you to learn about the law school, meet fellow students, faculty, and administrators, and take care of all necessary business before classes begin.
- Additional information about orientation will be made available in the summer and can also be found on the Student Affairs Office website.
First-year and advanced standing students are automatically scheduled for their classes. The full-time division is divided into three sections and the part-time division is its own section. Students in each section take their required core courses together and divide into even smaller groups for the school’s unique Lawyering Process course, which gives first-year students early, hands-on exposure to the crucial skills of research, writing, negotiation, and persuasion.
Registration for courses usually begins in July. Once you are registered, you can view your class schedule online on the “Law Student” tab of PioneerWeb, by clicking on “Registration” and selecting “View Registration Information.”
Transfer and visiting student will be contacted by the Office of the Registrar with registration information once your deposit/letter of intent are received.
Law books for incoming first year students will be available for purchase in August. Please be aware that, although unlikely, your class schedule may change up to and including the first day of orientation. In the event that your class schedule changes and you need to return or exchange your books, please do not take books out of their original packaging or write in them until you receive your final schedule.
The DU Bookstore is located in Driscoll Student Center South. If you have your schedule, you can look up required books online or in-person. Additionally, you can access a book list directly from your schedule in PioneerWeb.
All first-year students are required to have a laptop to support their educational experience at Denver Law. To read more about the laptop requirement please see go to the Educational Technology website.
The Law School Student Handbook covers academic policies and other important student information. Please read at your earliest convenience.
- Law School Resources
Welcome to Denver, Colorado!
Denver is located on high, rolling plains, approximately 15 miles from the foothills (a gentle series of peaks ranging from 7,000 to 11,000 feet high). Just beyond the foothills is the Continental Divide and a series of peaks as high as 14,000 feet, known locally as the Front Range. Contrary to popular belief, Denver has a mild, dry and arid climate and an average of 300 days of sun per year. Denver boasts over 200 parks, 450 miles of paved, designated bike trails, over 70 golf courses, and more than 143 free tennis courts. A short drive from Denver are opportunities for skiing, snowboarding, hiking, fishing, camping, horseback riding, sailing, or mountain biking. It’s important to balance work and play when in law school, and there’s no better place for that than Denver Law.