The Ved Nanda Center for International and Comparative Law

McDougal Lecture

Myres S. McDougal Distinguished Lecture in International Law

Established in 1976, the Myres S. McDougal Distinguished Lecture in International Law features eminent jurists and scholars addressing various aspects of international law and policy. Myres S. McDougal was one of the most influential scholars in the history of international law, and Professor Ved Nanda’s mentor at Yale Law School.

The lecture that bears the McDougal name attracts academics, statesmen and others who are lauded as the best in their respective fields of expertise. Presentation of the McDougal Lecture, as well as other addresses by visiting scholars and guests, is accompanied by opportunities for the students to meet and converse with the speakers.



The incorporation of international human rights law into domestic U.S. law -- UN Article 55 and more

November 8, 2017 | 5:00 – 7:00 pm | Reception to follow

Check-in 4:30 pm | Parking Free in Lot L | 1 General CLE Credit

Ricketson Law Building | 2255 E Evans Ave Denver CO 80210 | LAW 165

Jordan Paust
Professor Emeritus, Theresa & Mike Baker Professor of International Law, University of Houston Law Center

Professor Paust has also been a Visiting Edward Ball Eminent Scholar University Chair in International Law at Florida State University (spring, 1997), a Fulbright Professor at the University of Salzburg, Austria (1978-1979), and a member of the faculty of the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General’s School, International Law Division (1969-1973, mob. des. 1973-1975). He has served on several committees on international law, human rights, laws of war, terrorism, and the use of force in the American Society of International Law, the American Branch of the International Law Association, and the American Bar Association, and was the Co-Chair of the American Society’s International Criminal Law Interest Group (1992-2008). He was also the Chair of the Section on International Law of the Association of American Law Schools and was on the Executive Council and the President’s Committee of the American Society of International Law. He is one of the most widely cited law professors in the United States, is ranked among the top 1 percent in Leiter’s studies for 2000-2007, 2005-2009, and 2010-2014; and with respect to downloads of his articles from SSRN. Two of his articles were cited by the U.S. Supreme Court. Among relevant books are: Paust, Van Dyke, Malone, International Law and Litigation in the U.S. (Thomson – West Group, American Casebook Series, 3 ed. 2009); Paust, International Law as Law of the United States (2 ed. 2003); Paust, Bassiouni, et al., International Criminal Law: Cases and Materials (4 ed. 2013); Paust, Bassiouni, et al., Human Rights Module (3 ed. 2014). Professor Paust has published over 200 articles, book chapters, papers and essays in law journals in Belgium, Canada, China, England, Germany, Greece, Israel, Japan, the Netherlands, Serbia, and the U.S.: at Yale, Harvard, Columbia, Stanford, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Cornell, Texas, Duke, the American Journal of International Law, and elsewhere – many of which address treaties, customary international law, jurisdiction, human rights, international crimes, and the incorporation of international law into U.S. domestic law.

He received an A.B. and J.D. from UCLA, an LL.M. from the University of Virginia, and is a J.S.D. Candidate, Yale University (in residence, Ford Foundation Fellowship, 1973-75)

Past Recipients

2016 Tom Farer, University of Denver Josef Korbel School of International Studies
2015 Lakshman D. Guruswamy, University of Colorado Law School
2014 Petros Mavroidis, Columbia Law School and the European University Institute
2013 Ruth Wedgwood, Johns Hopkins University
2011 Gary Hart, Former U.S. Senator to Colorado
2010 Dinah L. Shelton, The George Washington University Law School
2009 José Alvarez, Columbia Law School
2008 Richard Falk, Princeton University
2007 Larry Johnson, Ass’t Secretary General for Legal Affairs, United Nations
2006 Ved Nanda, University of Denver
2003 Nigel S. Rodley, University of Essex
2002 James A.R. Nafziger, Willamette University
2001 David A. Gantz, University of Arizona
2000 Jon M. Van Dyke, University of Hawaii
1999 Stephen C. McCaffrey, McGeorge School of Law
1998 M. Cherif Bassiouni, DePaul University
1994 Christopher Weeramantry, International Court of Justice, The Hague
1993 Oscar Schachter, Columbia University
1992 Robert Muller, United Nations University for Peace, Costa Rica
1991 Louis B. Sohn, University of Georgia
1990 Leonard v.B. Sutton, Former Chief Justice Colorado Supreme Court
1989 Richard B. Bilder, University of Wisconsin
1988 Leslie C. Green, University of Alberta
1987 William M. Beaney, University of Denver
1986 Richard Falk, Princeton University
1985 Thomas Franck, New York University
1984 Seymour Rubin, American Society of International Law
1983 1983 Burns H. Weston, University of Iowa
1982 W. Michael Reisman , Yale University
1981 John Norton Moore, University of Virginia
1980 Gustavo Lagos, Universidad de Chile
1978 Clarence Clyde Ferguson, Harvard University
1977 John M. Hazard, Columbia University
1976 Josef Korbel, University of Denver
Sturm College of Law
University of Denver
2255 E. Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80208