The Ved Nanda Center for International and Comparative Law

Past Cox Price Award Laureates

  In honor of your dedication and commitment to human rights;
Making the world a better place for humanity. 

The Ved Nanda Center and University of Denver Sturm College of Law is honored to recognize the dedication and impact of each Cox Price Award recipient in furthering the rule-of-law and fighting for international human rights for all.

Michael Scharf

Holding Russia Accountable for War Crimes in the Ukrainian War

Michael Scharf is co-Dean and Joseph C. Hostetler -- BakerHostetler Professor of Law at Case Western Reserve University School of Law. He was recently elected President of the American Branch of the International Law Association.

 Watch Video 

S. James Anaya

Race & the Law: Still Work to Do

S. James Anaya is the current dean of the University of Colorado Law School. He has taught and written extensively on international human rights and issues concerning indigenous peoples, and has lectured in many countries throughout the world.

Daniel B. Magraw

The Human Right to a Healthy Environment: Evolution & Urgency

Daniel B. Magraw is an international lawyer working primarily on human rights, environmental and investment issues. He is President Emeritus of the Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL) and Professorial Lecturer and Senior Fellow at the Foreign Policy Institute at Johns Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS)

Todd Howland

Todd Howland, JD’86, MA’87, Representative of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights in Colombia.

Human Rights Change via UN Human Rights Field Operations and International Human Rights Law

Todd Howland is a veteran in the field of human rights with over 25 years of professional experience with NGOs, academic institutions in countries including the US, Rwanda, Equatorial Guinea, Switzerland, Ethiopia and Korea. Prior to his current role, he served as Representative of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

 Watch Video 

 M. Cherif Bassiouni

 Watch Video 

Brenda Hollis

2013 (Fall)
Peter Weiss

2013 (Spring)
Robert Swift

Edward C. Luck

Bill Pace (William)

Paul Hoffman

Sherry Broder

Sturm College of Law
University of Denver
2255 E. Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80208