Dual Degree Programs

The Sturm College of Law offers numerous dual degree arrangements in which students may work concurrently on a JD degree and an advanced degree in a related discipline. The programs exist in conjunction with other departments at the University of Denver or the Colorado School of Mines. Dual degree opportunities now exist in: Geography, Psychology, Computer Science, Business, International Management, Real Estate, Social Work, Economics, Mass Communications, Public Policy, Tax, International Studies and Mineral Economics (at the Colorado School of Mines).

Application for Dual Degree Programs are available through the Graduate Studies office or online at<u>http://www.du.edu/grad/current-students/forms.html</u>. Dual-degree credit hours taken in other University of Denver graduate programs count toward the maximum of fifteen (15) quarter credit hours that law students can take outside the law school. Students may receive credit for eight (8) semester hours of non-JD credit or ten (10) semester hours of dual-degree credit, but may not receive both. Before the Sturm College of Law will consider a student as a dual degree student, the student must secure separate admission to the counterpart program. After the student completes the required initial first-year law curriculum, the student may schedule courses in any combination.

Students must pursue both of the degrees in a dual degree simultaneously. While students are encouraged to complete courses from each field concurrently, in some cases, electives may be taken consecutively. Students have up to 18 months to complete the second degree, however, students will not be awarded the degree of Juris Doctor until all requirements for the second degree are met. Students cannot be certified to take any bar examinations until they have been awarded the degree of Juris Doctor.

If a student changes his or her plans and decides to earn only one degree, the student must complete the full requirements for that degree.

The normal arrangements between the Sturm College of Law and another university department usually consist of the following: The other department usually will accept ten (10) semester hours (15 quarter hours) from the Sturm College of Law, and the Sturm College of Law generally will accept fifteen (15) quarter hours (10 semester hours) from another department in satisfaction of their respective degree requirements. Students must consult with other university departments to confirm the number of credit hours that department will accept from the Sturm College of Law.