Westminster Law Library

Library Name History

Chat with a Librarian
Reference: 303.871.6206
Circulation: 303.871.6188
Today's Hours
Westminster merger image

The Westminster Law Library was named in honor of the Westminster College of Law following its merger with the University of Denver in 1957. The photo at the right shows Dean Gordon Johnston (University of Denver) and Dean William Robinson (Westminster) reviewing the merger agreement between the two schools. The Westminster College of Law had a 45 year tradition of providing quality legal education to evening students in the Denver metropolitan area. The Westminster Law School (the name was changed to College of Law in 1956) was established in 1912 as part of the Westminster University of Colorado. During its tenure as an evening law program, Westminster graduated approximately 735 students, many of whom went on to become prominent lawyers, judges and political figures.

The Library’s name change was part of an agreement worked out between the two schools during the merger. The Sturm College of Law is proud of this rich history and is pleased to carry on the Westminster tradition in its Evening Division, as well as in the Westminster Law Library.

"Be it resolved that the intention of the Board of Trustees and the administration of the University of Denver to continue the evening division of the University of Denver College of Law for the next five years and indefinitely into the future as long as this evening division serves a real educational need and there is enough student matriculation to make it financially justifiable."


Sturm College of Law
University of Denver
2255 E. Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80208