Rocky Mountain Land Use Institute


RMLUI is governed by two officers, the Chairman of the Board and the President. Both are appointed by the Dean of the University of Denver Sturm College of Law, who serves on the RMLUI governing board along with the law school’s Associate Dean for Academic Affairs. In addition, RMLUI operates under the guidance of both regional and national advisory boards, the members of which are leading academics and practitioners in the fields of law, planning, policy, development and design. RMLUI’s program and day to day activities are managed by the Executive Director with the assistance of professional staff and a team of student Research Associates.

Governing Board

President – Thomas J. Ragonetti, Esq.

Thomas J. Ragonetti, Esq., is a senior shareholder and director of Otten, Johnson, Robinson, Neff & Ragonetti, P.C., a leading commercial law firm in Denver, where he specializes in land use, government regulation, urban and real estate development, and construction law. He represents private and public sector clients locally and nationally in matters involving complex governmental approvals and large scale development and construction and is active in civic matters including the same issues. Mr. Ragonetti has degrees in law from Harvard Law School and in City Planning from Cornell University. He is an adjunct professor in the School of Architecture and Planning, University of Colorado at Denver, where he teaches Growth Management, and an adjunct professor in Sturm College of Law at the University of Denver, where he teaches Land Use Planning. He is President of The Rocky Mountain Land Use Institute and has served on the Colorado Land Use Commission. Mr. Ragonetti frequently chairs and speaks in continuing legal education and planning programs devoted to land use, development and related topics.

Dean, Sturm College of Law – Bruce Smith »

National Advisory Board

  • Robert H. Freilich, Esq.
  • Professor Julian Conrad Juergensmeyer
  • Dwight H. Merriam, Esq., FAICP
  • Dr. Arthur (Chris) Nelson, AICP

Regional Advisory Board

  • Brian Connolly
  • Mary Jo Dougherty
  • Donald L. Elliott
  • Wayne Forman
  • Elizabeth Garvin
  • Barbara Green
  • Lawrence R. Kueter
  • Professor Jan G. Laitos
  • Matthew McKinney
  • Anita P. Miller
  • Stephen Miller
  • Jason Morris
  • Mary Kay Peck
  • Peter Pollock
  • Luther Propst
  • Florence Raitano
  • Sarah M. Rockwell
  • Jennifer Schaufele
  • Chris Shears

Emeritus Members

  • Christopher Duerksen, Esq.
  • Douglas A. Jorden, Esq.
  • Ed Ziegler
Sturm College of Law
University of Denver
2255 E. Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80208