Myres S. McDougal Distinguished Lecture in International Law

Established in 1976, the Myres S. McDougal Distinguished Lecture in International Law features eminent jurists and scholars addressing various aspects of international law and policy. Myres S. McDougal was one of the most influential scholars in the history of international law, and Professor Ved Nanda’s mentor at Yale Law School.

The lecture that bears the McDougal name attracts academics, statesmen and others who are lauded as the best in their respective fields of expertise. Presentation of the McDougal Lecture, as well as other addresses by visiting scholars and guests, is accompanied by opportunities for the students to meet and converse with the speakers.

Past Recipients

1976 Josef Korbel, University of Denver
1977 John M. Hazard, Columbia University
1978 Clarence Clyde Ferguson, Harvard University
1980 Gustavo Lagos, Universidad de Chile
1981 John Norton Moore, University of Virginia
1982 W. Michael Reisman , Yale University
1983 Burns H. Weston, University of Iowa
1984 Seymour Rubin, American Society of International Law
1985 Thomas Franck, New York University
1986 Richard Falk, Princeton University
1987 William M. Beaney, University of Denver
1988 Leslie C. Green, University of Alberta
1989 Richard B. Bilder, University of Wisconsin
1990 Leonard v.B. Sutton, Former Chief Justice Colorado Supreme Court
1991 Louis B. Sohn, University of Georgia
1992 Robert Muller, United Nations University for Peace, Costa Rica
1993 Oscar Schachter, Columbia University
1994 Christopher Weeramantry, International Court of Justice, The Hague
1998 M. Cherif Bassiouni, DePaul University
1999 Stephen C. McCaffrey, McGeorge School of Law
2000 Jon M. Van Dyke, University of Hawaii
2001 David A. Gantz, University of Arizona
2002 James A.R. Nafziger, Willamette University
2005 Nigel S. Rodley, University of Essex
2006 Ved Nanda, University of Denver
2007 Larry Johnson, Ass’t Secretary General for Legal Affairs, United Nations
2008 Richard Falk, Princeton University
2009 José Alvarez, Columbia Law School
2010 Dinah L. Shelton, The George Washington University Law School
2011 Gary Hart, Former U.S. Senator to Colorado
2013 Ruth Wedgwood, Johns Hopkins University
2014 Petros Mavroidis, Columbia Law School and the European University Institute
2015 Lakshman D. Guruswamy, University of Colorado Law School
2016 Tom Farer, University of Denver Josef Korbel School of International Studies