The Faculty | The Clinic Fellow | Former Fellows | Student Attorneys | The Erik Bluemel International Environmental Law Scholar | Former Student Attorneys

The Faculty

Since 2008, the Director of the Environmental Law Clinic is Professor Michael Harris, whose career has focused exclusively on the practice of environmental law since 1995. Professor Harris’s faculty biography can be found here.

In 2012, Professor Kevin Lynch, a former Environmental Law Clinic Fellow, joined the clinic’s tenure-track faculty. Professor Lynch’s faculty biography can be found here.

The Clinic Fellow

The Environmental Law Clinic offers post-J.D. clinical teaching fellowship. The three-year fellowship provides an opportunity to supervise and train law students representing clients. The fellow also teaches classes, attends workshops designed to train the fellow as a clinical teacher and pursues a scholarly agenda. During the first year, the fellow is given the opportunity to tailor the fellowship to his/her particular areas of interest within the Environmental Law Clinic. All clinic fellows (both environmental, transactional and civil rights) are integrated into the intellectual life of the law school and the larger University. Fellows are invited to attend faculty workshops at which works in progress will be presented, and to attend mentoring sessions for faculty.

The current fellow is Kelly Davis. Kelly came to DU from the Institute of Public Representation at Georgetown University Law Center in Washington, D.C. At IPR, Kelly supervised the student representation of clients on a wide range of environmental issues, including claims under the National Environmental Policy Act, Clean Water Act, and Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act. Prior to working at IPR, Kelly clerked for U.S. Senior District Judge William Wayne Justice and U.S. Magistrate Judge Robert L. Pitman at the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas. Kelly received her J.D. from the University of Texas School of Law, where she served as president of the Environmental Law Society and Recent Developments Editor of the Texas Environmental Law Journal, and interned with Earthjustice, Save Our Springs Alliance, and UT’s environmental law and housing clinics. Kelly earned a B.A. in Social and Environmental Justice from Warren Wilson College in Asheville, North Carolina. Kelly was born and raised in Austin, Texas.


Former Fellows

  • Kevin Lynch, currently an assistant professor at the Sturm College of Law.
  • Ashley Wilmes, currently in private practice in Boulder, Colorado.
  • Kay Bond, currently a staff attorney at the Southern Environmental Law Center.


Student Attorneys

Each year the Clinic trains approximately 18 J.D. students to practice environmental law. The goal of the Environmental Law Clinic is to protect the environment while teaching students practical legal skills that will translate into any practice area. The current student attorneys for 2013-2014 are:

Autumn Aspen
Sarah Bryant
Holly DeJong
Lauren Hammond
Elizabeth Kutch
Olivia Kyle
Wyatt Lemmer
Nick Lopez
Shannon Love
Courtney McVean
Emily Murphy
Domenic Nicotra
Timothy O’Leary
Brandon Pattison
Christopher Stevens


The Erik Bluemel Environmental Law Scholar

The Erik B. Bluemel Environmental Law Scholar was created to celebrate the life and memory of University of Denver Sturm College of Law Professor Erik B. Bluemel, who passed away in May 2009. Erik strongly supported legal advocacy and research regarding the impact of human-induced environmental degradation on the lives of indigenous peoples around the world.

To learn more about life as a Bluemel Scholar, and how to apply for the upcoming academic year, please look here.

The current Bluemel Scholar is Jennifer Barnes.


Former Student Attorneys


Allison Eastley – Attorney at Holland & Hart
Amelia Piggott – Enforcement Attorney for the EPA
Catherine Brady – Clerk for the Nevada Supreme Court
Christopher Hudson – White and Jankowski, LLP
David Mason – Attorney at Leventhal, Brown & Puga
Jake Schlesinger – Attorney with the Colorado Office of the Attorney General
Katherine Johnston
Ryan Malarkey – Attorney at Hayes Phillips Hoffman & Carberry
Sarah Aprils – Attorney at Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck
Shawn Cumberlege – Attorney at Stuart D. Morse & Associates


Craig Adams
Tony Basile – Law Clerk to the Honorable Ann B. Frick at Denver District Courts
Christopher Brown – Associate at Kennedy Childs P.C.
Sarah Coleman – Attorney with the Law Offices of Luke J. Danielson
Whitney Ferrell – Attorney at Environmental Integrity Project
Kate Finnigan
Alyson Gould – Attorney at Holsinger Law
John McKee – Career and Office Coordinator at University of Denver, Sturm College of Law
April Shepherd – Program Assistant at Environmental Defense
Allison Vetter – Attorney at Benson, Kerrane, Storz & Nelson’s
Ahson Wali – Attorney at Colorado State Public Defender’s Office
Rob Westfall – Attorney at Barrett & McNagny LLP
Dan Vedra – Attorney at Hatch Ray Olsen LLC


Tara Buchalter
Stephanie Fairbanks – Atorney at Colorado State Public Defender
Myra Gottl
Tripp Hall
Todd Likman – Attorney at Hershey, Skinner, LLC
Kelly Miller
Antonio Morales – In-House Landman at WhitMar Exploration Company
Nicholas Murray – Attorney at Ireland Stapleton
Aaron O’Quinn – In-House Landman at WhitMar Exploration Company
Patrick Spellman
Daniel Valenzuela
Eric Wilson


Amanda Becker
Chris Boeckx
Mason Brown
Kristen Butler
Casey Giltner
Mac Joyce
Keslie Kandt
Jillian Kysor
Chelsea Peterson
Justine Shepherd
Toby Weiner
Jessica Zaegel


Leigh Auerbach
Jennifer Barnes
Sarah Barth
Ryan Coyne
James Fogg
Jonathan Goldstein
Ashley Jackson
Joann Kinsey
Casey Krizman
Jessica Morales
Joseph Norris
Stefanie Pupkiewicz
Ted Standage
Laurie Strong
Laura Wood