Announcements

WLR Fall 2015 Candidacy Opens

The DU Water Law Review Candidacy Application is available at 8:00 am, Friday, August 28th. Add the TWEN Course

For more information, contact:

Allison Robinette at arobinette16@law.du.edu

Sponsored by DU Water Law Review


Trial Wills Projects - Applications Avaliable September 1st

Tribal Wills Applications will be available Sept 1 thru Sept 11 on the counter outside 415B for all of the following trips: New Mexico, (Jan 3-8); Colorado Four Corners area, (March 13-18); Montana, (May 22-27).

If you want to go on any one or more of these trips, have your application completed, and returned to the counter outside 415B by 3 pm on Friday, September 11th. Decisions will be announced shortly thereafter.

An information Session will be held on September 1st in room 255 at Noon if you would like additional information.

For more information, contact:

Lucy Marsh at lmarsh@law.du.edu or 303.755.0032

Sponsored by Tribal Wills Project


The Practice of Employee Benefits Law Panel

Wednesday, September 9
4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. in Room 165

Brian Berglund, Bryan Cave LLP
Michael Beaver, Holland & Hart LLP
David Conrad, Area Counsel, Tax Exempt and Government
Entities, Office of Chief Counsel, Internal Revenue Service
Sheldon Smith, Bryan Cave LLP

Free and open to the community. Parking and dinner provided. Registration required by September 7 at acebcfellows@outlook.com.

For more information, contact:

Stef Carroll at scarroll@law.du.edu

Sponsored by Workplace Law Program


Natural Resources & Environmental Law Society General Meeting

Come and learn more about the Natural Resources & Environmental Law Society, the upcoming events we have planned for the 2015-16 year, and how you can get more involved. This meeting is for both current and potentially interested members, looking forward to seeing you there!

September 2nd, noon-1pm
Room 125
Lunch will be provided.

For more information, contact:

Shannon Hughes at shughes17@law.du.edu

Sponsored by Natural Resources and Environmental Law Society


The Students for Sensible Drug Policy Introduction Luncheon

Join us on September 3rd in room 280 from 12-1 for great food and listen to great people talk about something they are very passionate about!

Learn more about how you can get involved with the Students for Sensible Drug Policy at DU. We will be hearing from Sturm alumni, as well as SSDP alumni from across the country. Hope to see you there!

For more information, contact:

Lauren Snow at lsnow16@law.du.edu

Sponsored by The Students for Sensible Drug Policy


2nd Annual DU/CU Transactional Cup Competition

An intra and inter-school competition that requires student teams to draft a component of an asset purchase agreement as counsel for either buyer or seller and then negotiate against student teams representing the other party.

For more information, contact:

Stacey Bowers at sbowers@law.du.edu

Sponsored by Business Law Section of Colorado Bar Association


Download the First Year Directory NOW!

The first year directory booklet is now available to download. Click here to download the booklet http://mediaserv.law.du.edu/pdf/studentaffairs/Directory-of-Incoming-Students-Fall-2015-Sturm-College-of-Law.pdf

For more information, contact:

Katie Fredrick at kfredrick@law.du.edu


Lawyering for the Public Good

Register now for Lawyering for the Public Good: A Gathering of Denver Law Students Dedicated to Justice on Saturday, September 12. The event will kick off Friday evening with keynote speaker Purvi Shah of the Center for Constitutional Rights, Ferguson Legal Defense Committee, and #LawForBlackLives.

Learn more here: http://www.law.du.edu/index.php/public-service-portal/events/lawyering-for-the-public-good

For more information, contact:

Alexi Freeman at afreeman@law.du.edu


Education Outreach & Policy Group General Meeting

The first General Meeting for all students interested in joining the Education Policy & Outreach Group (EPOG) will be on September 2, noon-1:00pm in room 170. All 1Ls and returning students should come! We will be joined by Kathleen Gebhardt, an attorney and the executive director of Children’s Voices, a non-profit law firm that advocates on behalf of school-age children in Colorado for equal access to a high-quality public education.

For more information, contact:

Katie Steefel at ksteefe17@law.du.edu

Sponsored by Education Policy & Outreach Group